Search

Technical Discussion Group Forum

This forum is provided for user discussion. While Beacon EmbeddedWorks support staff and engineers participate, Beacon EmbeddedWorks does not guarantee the accuracy of all information within in the Technical Discussion Group (TDG).

The "Articles" forums provide brief Articles written by Beacon EmbeddedWorks engineers that address the most frequently asked technical questions.

To receive email notifications when updates are posted for a Beacon EmbeddedWorks product download, please subscribe to the TDG Forum of interest.

TDG Forum

PrevPrev Go to previous topic
NextNext Go to next topic
Last Post 21 Jul 2004 08:31 AM by  mikee@logicpd.com
[HOWTO] reflash BOLO & LOLO using JTAG
 12 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
elf-coastal@buici.com
New Member
New Member
Posts:


--
23 Mar 2004 12:19 PM
    The recipe given by Logic to recover from a borked bootstrap uses a RAM image of BOLO that executes from SRAM. I suppose that this works if your JTAG setup initializes the SRAM controller on startup. Mine, the BDI2000, does not. So, here's another way to reflash the Logic loaders when the system has nothing.

    Fetch the BOLO and LOLO images. The filenames that I have are

    LH7a400-10_BoLo_Flash_ver_1_2_5
    LH7a400-10_LoLo_Flash_ver_1_2_5

    Use objcopy to dump these ELF files to raw binary images.

    # objcopy -O binary -R .note -R .comment -S LH7a400-10_BoLo_Flash_ver_1_2_5 bolo.bin
    # objcopy -O binary -R .note -R .comment -S LH7a400-10_LoLo_Flash_ver_1_2_5 lolo.bin

    Copy these files to the tftp directory.

    # cp bolo.bin lolo.bin /tftpboot

    Connect to the JTAG box. For me, this is over telnet.

    # telnet bdi
    Core#0>

    Now, in one pass we'll erase and reprogram the flash.

    Core#0> erase 0 0x40000 2
    Core#0> prog 0 bolo.bin bolo
    Core#0> prog 0x40000 lolo.bin bin

    Reset the system and you should be good to go.
    derek_snow@mentor.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    23 Mar 2004 03:30 PM
    The RAM version of BoLo that I have runs from SDRAM not from SRAM. Is there more than one version that we can obtain? I only saw one of the downloads site.

    Thanks,
    Derek
    elf-coastal@buici.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    24 Mar 2004 10:29 AM
    I meant SDRAM. If BoLo could run from SRAM, this wouldn't be an issue.
    joseph.fitzgerald@aflglobal.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    02 Jul 2004 12:30 PM
    We're currently looking at purchasing a JTAG debugger/ICE to work Platform Builder and A400SDK. ANybody got any recommendations? Any warnings

    Thanks
    Joe
    Anonymous
    Posts:


    --
    02 Jul 2004 03:14 PM
    Logic recommends an ARM Multi-ICE.

    Regards,
    joseph.fitzgerald@aflglobal.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    06 Jul 2004 06:55 AM
    Thanks Aaron. Any particular cable configuration I need ?

    Joe
    mikee@logicpd.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    06 Jul 2004 01:52 PM
    Actually,

    I _really_ like the Abatron BDI 2000. Currently, I prefer that device over the MultiICE quite a bit. Marc Singer turned me onto it and I never really plan to go back to the MultiICE.

    HOWEVER, I don't know if the BDI will hook into Platform Builder's eXDI interface. So, if you definitally need to connect your hardware debugger to Platform Builder, then you might be stuck with the MultiICE. You'll have to check the Platform Builder page to see if the BDI is supported.

    May I ask why you want to use Platform Builder to drive your hardware debugger? I'm not sure what you are doing that you might need this functionality.

    Also, in response to the first post within this thread. The recipe that should be out there is to do the following:

    1) Use the "bootstrap" program to initialize SDRAM. This little program _does_ run from SRAM and just initializes SDRAM and then enters a tight loop.
    2) Then break the "bootstrap" program with your debugger and load the SDRAM version of BoLo into the initialized SDRAM.
    3) Use that version of BoLo to download and flash a new version of BoLo/LoLo.

    Best regards,

    --mikee
    joseph.fitzgerald@aflglobal.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    06 Jul 2004 02:28 PM
    Mike,

    There is no particular reason for "wanting" the PB interface other than we are using PB and it would be nice if the hardware debugger interfaced with PB if we happened to need it.

    I don't have any experience using a hardware debugger with either CE or PB, so is there something I should know? I have used emulators on other types of platforms and OSes so I am familiar with there use in general.

    Thanks

    Joe
    mikee@logicpd.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    06 Jul 2004 03:00 PM
    In the four years that I've worked with Windows CE. I've never _had_ to use the eXDI interface. I've played with it once or twice just to see if it really worked, but I've never _needed_ it.

    In fact, if you are using the Card Engine and our BSP, you most likely won't need a hardware debugger at all. Windows CE comes with a very nice kernel debugger which is what we use to debug any applications or device drivers.

    If you are doing your own bootloader or something, then you might need it, but only if you plan on using the Platform Builder back-end tools to build. We tend to use the GNU toolchain and gdb when we are bringing up boards and porting LoLo to new hardware. Once the bootloader is on the platform, I use the kernel debugger to finish the rest of the operating system and driver work.

    --mikee
    joseph.fitzgerald@aflglobal.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    20 Jul 2004 03:07 PM
    We bought the BDI 2000 and I'm getting a JTAG exists check failed error. I'm using the default files for the 920/922. Any ideas or suggestions.

    TIA

    Joe
    mikee@logicpd.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    20 Jul 2004 03:11 PM
    First thing, check the settings of the JTAG jumpers on the SDK. The proper values will be in the user's guide. Off the top of my head, I think J6: 1,3,5 should be + and J6: 2,4,6 should be -.

    Then, check out Marc Singer's website here:

    http://projects.buici.com/arm/lpd7a400

    He has some information about using the BDI as well as a sample configuration file.

    Regards,

    --mikee
    joseph.fitzgerald@aflglobal.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    21 Jul 2004 07:19 AM
    Thanks Mike. Got it up and running. I found the section in the manual after I made the post.

    Also, thanks for the link to Marc's website. It's very helpful.


    Joe
    mikee@logicpd.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    21 Jul 2004 08:31 AM
    No trouble. I'm glad you got it all working. Please post back with any questions or successes.

    --mikee
    You are not authorized to post a reply.