Go to previous topic
Go to next topic
Last Post 12 Dec 2003 11:18 AM by  shaun@newfind.net
networking under linux
 5 Replies
Author Messages
shaun@newfind.net
New Member
New Member
Posts:


--
08 Dec 2003 11:54 AM
    Hello -

    I can do
    ifconfig sm0 dhcp
    from Lolo and get an IP address and even ping my gateway. However, when I start linux, there is no device sm0 and the eth0 device wont start as expected. The IP I get when I use ifconfig from Lolo is 192.168.1.119. I've tried various things:

    starting the kernel with:
    exec root=/dev/hda1 ip=dhcp
    and
    exec root=/dev/hda1 ip=192.168.1.119
    with no success (with and without having Lolo bring up the adapter first)

    I've also tried the following after the kernel comes up:
    ip addr add 192.168.1.119/24 dev eth0
    ip link set eth0 up
    After the second command I get the response:
    smc_open: ERROR: remote fault.
    smc_open: ERROR: cable not connected.
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: Link has been severed
    and I still cannot ping out (the cable is fine, I was able to ping from Lolo).

    I get the same error message when I try:
    /sbin/dhcpd eth0

    Any ideas? Thanks.

    --
    Shaun
    shaun@newfind.net
    yaser.mohamed@ascomtateco.se
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    09 Dec 2003 02:38 AM
    When I start Linux I use following command:
    exec 0x40100000 - root=nfs nfsroot=192.168.1.2 ip=192.168.1.10::192.168.1.1:255.255.255.0:::off

    In your case I think it should look like:
    exec root=/dev/hda1 ip=<ip>::<gateway>:<netmask>:::off
    where <ip> is your ip, and so on.
    yaser.mohamed@ascomtateco.se
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    09 Dec 2003 02:41 AM
    *edit* Opps, double post.
    shaun@newfind.net
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    10 Dec 2003 11:40 AM
    ...
    shaun@newfind.net
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    10 Dec 2003 01:30 PM
    That was it!! Thanks!

    --
    Shaun
    shaun@newfind.net
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    12 Dec 2003 11:18 AM
    (this is the third time I've tried to reply, the others don't 'stick')

    Thanks!! That generally works great!!

    I am finding something a little strange however. Usually that exact set of kernel command line args will bring up the network, but once in a while, it will fail. I get the same error listed above. Are there some DHCP server environments or other network environments that others are having inconsistant results within?

    Thanks again..

    --
    Shaun


    ---