Search

Technical Discussion Group Forum

This forum is provided for user discussion. While Beacon EmbeddedWorks support staff and engineers participate, Beacon EmbeddedWorks does not guarantee the accuracy of all information within in the Technical Discussion Group (TDG).

The "Articles" forums provide brief Articles written by Beacon EmbeddedWorks engineers that address the most frequently asked technical questions.

To receive email notifications when updates are posted for a Beacon EmbeddedWorks product download, please subscribe to the TDG Forum of interest.

TDG Forum

PrevPrev Go to previous topic
NextNext Go to next topic
Last Post 04 May 2009 10:31 AM by  AlanREI
Windows CE 6.0
 12 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages

juanluna



New Member


Posts:
New Member


--
14 Jun 2008 11:48 AM
    Hi Guys,

    I have downloaded the Windows CE 5.0 sample image, and it has run succesfully on my system.

    Now, I am trying to build by myself a new Windows CE 6.0 image , using Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Professional Edition. I have made many NK.BINs, but none of them run successfully. First, the NK.BIN is loaded succesfully to the memory, but it is not the same for the exec command. So, I need help.

    Are the boot parameters for Windows CE 6.0 different? There is any guide for to build a WinCE 6.0 image for imx31 using Visual Studio .net?


    Tera Term:

    losh> video-open final 16 (final is a custom display)
    losh> mount fatfs /cf
    losh> load bin /cf/MainstoneIII/NK.BIN

    ....................................................
    ....................................................
    .
    .
    .
    ....................................................
    image launch addr: 0x80101000

    Verifying checksums: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    Checksums good.
    file loaded

    losh> exec rtc:rtc_imx31_pmic:coproc:00f00000:dbg_leds:3:dbg_serial:IMX31_UART:disp_num:5:skiplcdcinit:1; (Note: These are the same boot parameters that I use succesfully for winCE 5.0)

    (After this nothing happens... All is dead... GPIO1 is off, GPIO0 is on)

    mikea@logicpd.com



    New Member


    Posts:
    New Member


    --
    23 Jun 2008 05:41 PM
    As of the date of this posting, there is no Windows CE 6.0 BSP available available on our website. Is this a BSP you got from somewhere else? It's something we are working on, but will be a couple of months before this is available. So, assuming this isn't Logic's BSP, I would assume it won't work.

    Thanks,
    -Mike

    AlanREI



    New Member


    Posts:
    New Member


    --
    03 Sep 2008 08:14 AM
    Posted By mikealpd on 23 Jun 2008 5:41 PM
    As of the date of this posting, there is no Windows CE 6.0 BSP available available on our website. Is this a BSP you got from somewhere else? It''s something we are working on, but will be a couple of months before this is available. So, assuming this isn''t Logic''s BSP, I would assume it won''t work.

    Thanks,
    -Mike




    when can we expect the 6.0 BSP?

    I hate not being able to easily utilize the full 128 MB of memory on our board, without shared memory. You said it would be a few months, and that was several months ago, are there any updates?

    richard.laborde@logicpd.com



    Basic Member


    Posts:247
    Basic Member


    --
    04 Sep 2008 10:51 AM
    Alan,

    Thanks for your patience. CE 6.0 on the i.MX31 is currently scheduled for release in Q1 '09. It was downgraded in priority vs. some of our other platforms since we already had CE 5.0 released on the Litekit.

    AlanREI



    New Member


    Posts:
    New Member


    --
    08 Sep 2008 02:48 PM
    Posted By richardl on 4 Sep 2008 10:51 AM
    Alan,

    Thanks for your patience. CE 6.0 on the i.MX31 is currently scheduled for release in Q1 ''09. It was downgraded in priority vs. some of our other platforms since we already had CE 5.0 released on the Litekit.




    That's really unfortunate. The newer memory architecture and support for NTFS and other features would have been useful. I'm not sure that we will be able to wait for its release.

    buddybu



    New Member


    Posts:
    New Member


    --
    12 Mar 2009 02:28 PM
    Posted By richardl on 4 Sep 2008 10:51 AM
    Alan,

    Thanks for your patience. CE 6.0 on the i.MX31 is currently scheduled for release in Q1 ''09. It was downgraded in priority vs. some of our other platforms since we already had CE 5.0 released on the Litekit.




    It is now nearing the end of Q1'09. Is the release of the CE 6.0 BSP completed or near completion?

    mikea@logicpd.com



    New Member


    Posts:
    New Member


    --
    12 Mar 2009 03:59 PM
    Yes, we have the BSP working well in house. There are a few issues we are working out, but expect a 1.0.0 drop to be available on the website sometime during the first week of April. We may be able to provide a sample NK.bin late next week, if you go to Ask A Question and submit this request.

    Thank you,
    -Mike

    buddybu



    New Member


    Posts:
    New Member


    --
    12 Mar 2009 08:09 PM
    Posted By mikealpd on 12 Mar 2009 3:59 PM
    Yes, we have the BSP working well in house. There are a few issues we are working out, but expect a 1.0.0 drop to be available on the website sometime during the first week of April. We may be able to provide a sample NK.bin late next week, if you go to Ask A Question and submit this request.

    Thank you,
    -Mike




    Mike,

    Thank you for your reply. I will wait for the BSP to be released.

    John

    AlanREI



    New Member


    Posts:
    New Member


    --
    04 May 2009 09:30 AM
    We STILL have no windows CE 6.0 BSP release!

    mikea@logicpd.com



    New Member


    Posts:
    New Member


    --
    04 May 2009 09:39 AM
    Alan,
    I can understand your frustration. We had a couple of bugs that caused us to hold off. I highly recommend working with with the Ask A Question to get a pre-release if working with CE 6.0 is holding up your project. We are working hard to get this tested and posted, it could be up to two weeks yet for this to show up on our website.

    Thank you,
    -Mike

    AlanREI



    New Member


    Posts:
    New Member


    --
    04 May 2009 09:57 AM
    Posted By mikealpd on 4 May 2009 9:39 AM
    Alan,
    I can understand your frustration. We had a couple of bugs that caused us to hold off. I highly recommend working with with the Ask A Question to get a pre-release if working with CE 6.0 is holding up your project. We are working hard to get this tested and posted, it could be up to two weeks yet for this to show up on our website.

    Thank you,
    -Mike




    I have a pre-release. Everything seemed to work except two things.

    The USB had some issues with plug and play, which was noted in the pre-release as being worked on. (ok). I need to test this more, it may not even affect me because we have an internal USB hub in our product.

    The CompactFlash does not work (just as in Windows CE 5.0!) with bigger/faster cards. I had to switch timings in 5.0. I asked if 6.0 had timings that I could configure because they switched from binaries to source code. I have not gotten any response on that.

    I have also been unable to get CE 6.0 to build. Perhaps it is my fault? But I always get errors.

    buddybu



    New Member


    Posts:
    New Member


    --
    04 May 2009 10:22 AM
    Posted By AlanREI on 4 May 2009 9:39 AM

    I have a pre-release...




    Is is possible to get this download, or should I do I need to also go to "Ask A Question" to get this pre-release?

    --buddybu

    AlanREI



    New Member


    Posts:
    New Member


    --
    04 May 2009 10:31 AM
    Posted By buddybu on 4 May 2009 9:39 AM
    Posted By AlanREI on 4 May 2009 9:39 AM

    I have a pre-release...




    Is is possible to get this download, or should I do I need to also go to "Ask A Question" to get this pre-release?

    --buddybu




    Either that.. or contact supportcontract@logicpd.com which is how I got mine. (but we have or had a support contact)
    You are not authorized to post a reply.