Search

Technical Discussion Group Forum

This forum is provided for user discussion. While Beacon EmbeddedWorks support staff and engineers participate, Beacon EmbeddedWorks does not guarantee the accuracy of all information within in the Technical Discussion Group (TDG).

The "Articles" forums provide brief Articles written by Beacon EmbeddedWorks engineers that address the most frequently asked technical questions.

To receive email notifications when updates are posted for a Beacon EmbeddedWorks product download, please subscribe to the TDG Forum of interest.

TDG Forum

PrevPrev Go to previous topic
NextNext Go to next topic
Last Post 08 Nov 2004 09:35 AM by  ylin
problems with bootscript in eeprom
 6 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
ylin
New Member
New Member
Posts:


--
03 Nov 2004 09:39 AM
    I'm trying to run a bootscript that automatically jumps to the address of a program located in Flash.

    I typed the following command to the Losh prompt:

    losh> echo "LOLOjump 0x000C0000; exit" /dev/serial_eeprom

    now the content of my the eeprom is the following:

    losh> hd /dev/serial_eeprom
    0xc003d8a0 4c 4f 4c 4f 6a 75 6d 70 20 30 78 30 30 30 43 30 LOLOjump 0x000C0
    0xc003d8b0 30 30 30 3b 20 65 78 69 74 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 000; exit.......
    0xc003d8c0 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e ................
    0xc003d8d0 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e ................
    0xc003d8e0 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e 2e ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................
    0xc003d8f0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................
    0xc003d900 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................
    0xc003d910 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff 01 23 45 67 ff ff ff ff .........#Eg....
    losh>


    When I reboot the board, this is the screen I get on Tera Term Pro:

    g_periph.touch: 0
    g_periph.net: 0
    g_periph.audio: 0
    losh> #EgCPLD_CE_REG_REVISION: 0x34 (rev: b)...............................
    CPLD_CE_REG_MODE : 0xfe

    *****************************************************************
    LogicLoader

    (c) Copyright 2002-2003, Logic Product Development, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    Version BRA_release_1-2-pre1.2.5
    *****************************************************************

    Available commands:
    load - download a binary image of type 'elf', or 'srec'
    burn - burns the already-loaded image into flash device 'device'
    erase - erases 'device' from start_address for length bytes
    jump - jump to a loaded image, or [address]
    exec - disable cache & ints, then jump to a loaded OS, or to [addr]
    source - execute a series of losh commands stored in <filename>
    w - write memory [of specified width] at addr
    x - examine memory with [width][format] at an addr for a [len]
    date - display the number of seconds since boot
    info - print information about: version, arch, mem, net, cpu
    help - print help for a single command or a group of commands.
    losh>


    If you notice the fourth line it is the following:

    losh> #EgCPLD_CE_REG_REVISION: 0x34 (rev: b)...............................

    What happens is that the script in the eeprom was excuted, but it simply prints the words "jump 0x000C0000......................................................................" on the screen, then the line get overwritten by "#EgCPLD_CE_REG_REVISION: 0x34 (rev: b)", and eventually I get the losh> prompt again.

    What am I not understanding properly? I thought that executing the script will jump to the address 0x000C0000 instead of returning to the LOSH prompt.

    Thanks in advance,

    Yujie
    mike tesch
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    05 Nov 2004 05:20 AM
    try this instead:

    echo "LOLOjump 0x000C0000; exit; \n" /dev/serial_eeprom
    ylin
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    05 Nov 2004 11:35 AM
    I tried your suggestion. Now it just prints

    Losh> jump 0x000C0000; exit; \n..........................................................

    and returns to the Losh prompt at the end.
    mike tesch
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    05 Nov 2004 11:38 AM
    what version of lolo do you have? have you updated?
    run 'info version'
    logic@ebynum.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    05 Nov 2004 02:36 PM
    I was having a similar problem when I put in a \n instead of a carriage return . Changing to a carriage return resulted in it working as expected.

    Ed
    miket@logicpd.com
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    05 Nov 2004 02:40 PM
    yeah, earlier versions of lolo didn't expand the \n at all.
    newer ones should, if you have the latest lolo, and it isn't
    expanding correctly, please let me know.
    ylin
    New Member
    New Member
    Posts:


    --
    08 Nov 2004 09:35 AM
    fixed the problem by getting newest version of LOLO/BOLO.

    Thank you very much for your assistance,

    Yujie
    You are not authorized to post a reply.